Gorgias vs Zendesk: which support AI does the job better for a UK brand?

Gorgias and Zendesk head to head, with Richpanel and eDesk alongside, judged on our AI-native lens: how well the AI does the job, and how far it helps your brand run on AI.

Lens evidence checked 22 Oct 2026 · 9 questions · stack tracker 21 Oct 2026

Quick answer · updated 22 Oct 2026

Gorgias vs Zendesk: which support AI does the job better for a UK brand? Gorgias: its AI has the best measured result of the four and it opens up to your own AI on every paid plan. Richpanel is the one to watch: most open and cheapest, but its AI is unmeasured.

Judged on our AI-native lens: does the AI do the job, and does the tool help a brand run on AI? Every row cites dated public evidence; "unmeasured" means nobody outside the vendor has tested it. Vendors can't pay for placement. How the lens works · Sources

Which AI does the job better?

Gorgias. In the only cross-vendor test of live stores, Gorgias's AI Agent automated 64% of conversations with a quality score of 66, against 37% for Zendesk's AI. Gorgias runs that benchmark itself, so treat it as the best evidence available, not neutral proof. Nobody outside the vendors has measured Richpanel's or eDesk's AI.

Which helps a brand become AI-native?

Gorgias again for most Shopify-first UK brands: a first-party MCP server on all paid plans, its AI Agent on every plan, and the most useful AI shipped to normal plans in the last 90 days. Richpanel is the most open to your own AI and the cheapest per AI conversation, but its AI quality is unmeasured. Zendesk has the best UK pricing and hosting but the weakest measured AI and the highest basket cost.

How do they rank on the lens?

Weights for support tools. Unknown rows are left out of the average, never guessed.

  1. Gorgias 3.74 on the 8 rows scored for every tool · 3.77 on all 9 of its scored rows
  2. Richpanel AI unmeasured 3.63 on the 8 rows scored for every tool · 3.63 on all 8 of its scored rows
  3. eDesk AI unmeasured 3.05 on the 8 rows scored for every tool · 3.05 on all 8 of its scored rows
  4. Zendesk 3.05 on the 8 rows scored for every tool · 2.91 on all 9 of its scored rows

No tool ranks first while its AI quality is unmeasured. First place goes to the best tool whose AI has been measured; the rest follow by their weighted average on the rows scored for every tool, so a gap in the evidence never lifts a tool.

We added Richpanel and eDesk, two more support tools with AI agents built for online shops, so you can see all four on the same lens. This page keeps its Gorgias vs Zendesk address.

How do Gorgias, Zendesk, Richpanel and eDesk compare on the AI-native lens?

Scores run from 1 to 5, where 5 is best for a brand that wants to run on AI. Confidence: H first-party docs, M one clear source, L anecdote or vendor marketing.

QuestionGorgiasZendeskRichpaneleDesk
Does the AI do the job?High weight4/5 confidence M64% of conversations automated, quality score 66, over 388 conversations; automation fell 6 points and quality 12 points over four weeks. Effort note: setup docs and operators say the "how" is the hard part.2/5 confidence M37% automated over 467 conversations; quality fell 15 points over four weeks. Zendesk itself says "up to 80%", which is a vendor claim.UnknownUnmeasured. Not in the benchmark. Richpanel offers a "50% automated in 30 days or your money back" guarantee and says its own model benchmark "does not establish production resolution rates".UnknownUnmeasured. Not in the benchmark. Vendor customer quotes say 30% and 35% resolution.
Sources: Ecommerce AI agent benchmark, run by Gorgias, summarised by SaaStr (Oct 2026); Richpanel support benchmark (vendor) (2 Oct 2026); eDesk pricing page (customer quotes) (checked 22 Oct 2026)
Can Claude or ChatGPT use it?High weight4/5 confidence HFirst-party MCP server (mcp.gorgias.com/mcp), open beta since May 2026, all paid plans; reads live data, some writes gated. REST API.3/5 confidence HREST API on all plans. Zendesk's AI can call other MCP servers (MCP client, GA 10 Aug 2026), but we found no Zendesk-documented MCP server for your own AI: its account MCP endpoint serves a ChatGPT customer-support channel in early access. ChatGPT has a Zendesk plugin built by OpenAI.5/5 confidence HFirst-party MCP server (mcp.richpanel.com/mcp), announced 16 Mar 2026, listed in Claude's connector directory with 21 tools, including send message and create draft.2/5 confidence HREST API on Enterprise only. No first-party MCP server; only third-party ones.
Which routes can Claude, ChatGPT or your agents use?Each route dated and sourced. Not scored on its own: it feeds the score above.
  • Official Claude connector NoNot listed in Anthropic's directory. You can still add its MCP server as a custom connector, if it has one.Anthropic's connector directory (checked 23 Oct 2026)
  • Official ChatGPT app YesYes, but built by OpenAI, not Zendesk. It reviews tickets and customer history, finds knowledge and prepares replies, within your Zendesk permissions.OpenAI: using Zendesk in ChatGPT and Codex (checked 23 Oct 2026)
  • MCP server LimitedZendesk runs an MCP endpoint on each account (/api/mcp, read and write scopes) but documents it only for its ChatGPT customer-support channel, in early access since 30 Apr 2026. We found no Zendesk guide to connecting your team's own AI; community servers exist.Zendesk: customer support over ChatGPT (EAP) (30 Apr 2026)
  • Public API YesREST API on all plans.Zendesk UK pricing (checked 22 Oct 2026)
  • Official CLI LimitedZCLI is official but builds and deploys Zendesk apps and themes. It does not work tickets.Zendesk: using ZCLI (checked 23 Oct 2026)
  • Official Claude connector YesAnthropic verified, added Aug 2026. 21 tools, including send message and update conversation.Richpanel AI in Claude's directory (checked 23 Oct 2026)
  • Official ChatGPT app NoNo listed app found. Its MCP server can be added to ChatGPT as a custom app.OpenAI: custom MCP apps in ChatGPT (checked 23 Oct 2026)
  • MCP server YesOfficial (mcp.richpanel.com). Can act: send messages, add notes, tag and update conversations, draft AI instructions. Which plans include it: not stated.Richpanel AI in Claude's directory (checked 23 Oct 2026)
  • Public API LimitedAPI access on the Enterprise plan only.Richpanel pricing (checked 23 Oct 2026)
  • Official CLI NoNone found in its developer docs.Richpanel developer docs (checked 23 Oct 2026)
Sources: Gorgias MCP is now in open beta (May 2026); Richpanel connector in Claude's directory (checked 22 Oct 2026); eDesk API guide (checked 22 Oct 2026)
Does the AI come on a plan a small brand would buy?High weight5/5 confidence HAI Agent on every plan (Starter $40 a month with AI), MCP on all paid plans, CSV export on all helpdesk plans.3/5 confidence MAPI on all plans, but data export isn't available on Team plans and many new AI features sit in the "AI agents - Advanced" add-on or early access.3/5 confidence MEvery plan includes AI. Which plans include MCP: not stated. Richpanel's pricing page lists API access on Enterprise only.2/5 confidence MAI Agent priced per outcome on all plans, but the API is Enterprise only and report extracts start on Professional.
Sources: Gorgias pricing (checked 22 Oct 2026); Zendesk export article 4408886165402 (checked 22 Oct 2026); Richpanel export limits (ClonePartner) (2026); Richpanel pricing (API access) (checked 23 Oct 2026)
Can you control what the AI does?High weight4/5 confidence MChoose how the AI hands over (22 Sep 2026), AI Coverage view (8 Oct 2026) and topics it must not handle.3/5 confidence LConversation logs flag messages the AI ignored (Aug 2026). We found less public detail on approvals.4/5 confidence MAI actions in new integrations go to your team for approval first (ShipHero 6 Oct, Subscribfy 15 Oct 2026); the connector shows what the AI called and why it stopped.5/5 confidence MGates confirm before acting, guardrails skip angry customers or those with several open tickets, policies by channel and region, AI identity disclosure (Sep 2026).
Sources: Gorgias updates (checked 22 Oct 2026); Richpanel updates (checked 22 Oct 2026); eDesk agent profile (checked 22 Oct 2026)
What does the AI learn from your data, and where does it live?Medium weight3/5 confidence MNo training of external models, but the AI Agent "does learn from interactions from other brands". EU merchants get EU servers.3/5 confidence MZendesk's own models may train on sanitised service data; opt out by contacting support. UK or EEA data centre option.3/5 confidence MNo training on your data without written consent. Hosting is US only (AWS Oregon); the DPA covers the UK IDTA.3/5 confidence LPrivacy policy says personal data is processed in the UK and EEA, with AWS EMEA as host. AI training terms: not found.
Sources: Gorgias AI Agent security FAQ (checked 22 Oct 2026); Zendesk AI data use, article 5729714731290 (checked 22 Oct 2026); Richpanel terms of service (checked 22 Oct 2026); eDesk privacy policy (checked 22 Oct 2026)
What does the AI cost per outcome in GBP?High weight3/5 confidence MBilled per automated interaction: $0.90 annual (about £0.67). Basket: about £896 a month.2/5 confidence HBilled per committed automated resolution: £1.30, with 5 included per agent a month. Basket: £1,416 a month.5/5 confidence MBilled on tokens: about $0.20 per AI-handled conversation (about £0.15), $200 a month minimum. "Handled" is not "resolved". Basket: about £371 a month.3/5 confidence MBilled per outcome (an answer or an action, once per ticket): $0.99 (about £0.74). Basket: about £827 a month.
Sources: Gorgias pricing (checked 22 Oct 2026); Zendesk UK pricing (checked 22 Oct 2026); Richpanel pricing (checked 22 Oct 2026); eDesk pricing (checked 22 Oct 2026)
What comes with you if you leave?Medium weight3/5 confidence HCSV export of up to 1m tickets on all plans; message text only through the analytics drill-down. AI setup export: not stated.3/5 confidence HJSON, CSV and XML exports, but off by default and not on Team plans; "AI agent tickets cannot be exported". Incremental Export API on all plans.2/5 confidence MCSV holds metadata only; full threads need the API; automation rules and flows don't export.2/5 confidence MReport extracts on Professional and above; API on Enterprise only. AI setup export: not stated.
Sources: Gorgias ticket export (checked 22 Oct 2026); Zendesk export article 4408886165402 (checked 22 Oct 2026); Richpanel export limits (ClonePartner) (2026)
Does it work for a UK brand today?Medium weight3/5 confidence MUSD prices, even read from the UK; EU hosting for EU merchants.5/5 confidence HGBP prices on zendesk.co.uk and a UK or EEA data centre option.2/5 confidence HUSD prices; US-only hosting.4/5 confidence MGBP shown to UK visitors; UK and EEA processing; Amazon UK and Argos channels.
Sources: Zendesk UK pricing (checked 22 Oct 2026); Richpanel sub-processors (19 May 2026)
What AI reached normal plans in the last 90 days?Low weight5/5 confidence MAI Agent reads images (24 Jul), Gaia beta for all accounts (17 Aug), AI actions on SMS (8 Sep), handover choices (22 Sep), AI Coverage (8 Oct), AI Agent on social GA (14 Oct).3/5 confidence LAsk for Details node for all AI agent customers (30 Sep), AI translations GA for messaging (Aug); many other items are add-on or early access.4/5 confidence MAI actions with approval via ShipHero (6 Oct) and Subscribfy (15 Oct); AI replies for Judge.me reviews (6 Oct); Voice beta (1 Oct).4/5 confidence MAI Agent 3.0 switched on for all clients (6 Aug); AI disclosure, result webhooks and AI replies to Trustpilot reviews (Sep).
Sources: Gorgias updates (checked 22 Oct 2026); Zendesk release notes through 16 Oct 2026 (16 Oct 2026); eDesk AI Agent 3.0 (LinkedIn, Evan de Vere Hunt) (6 Aug 2026)
Weighted average of scored rows3.77 (9 of 9 scored)2.91 (9 of 9 scored)3.63 (8 of 9 scored)3.05 (8 of 9 scored)

A Claude connector or ChatGPT app means it is listed in that product's directory; without one you can usually still add the tool's MCP server by URL. OpenAI says full custom MCP support in ChatGPT, including actions, is for Business, Enterprise and Edu workspaces. Routes checked 23 Oct 2026. Yes, No, Limited or Unknown, never guessed.

What would the AI cost a small UK support team each month?

3 agents, 2,000 tickets and 1,000 AI outcomes a month, billed annually.

ToolHow we priced itAs publishedPer month (GBP)What the vendor bills for
GorgiasPro with AI $471 (2,000 tickets, 190 automated interactions) plus 810 interactions at $0.90$1,200£896 (converted)automated interaction
ZendeskSuite Team £45 × 3 agents plus 985 automated resolutions at £1.30 (15 included)£1,415.50£1,416automated resolution
Richpanel3 seats at $99 plus the $200 AI minimum (about 1,000 conversations at about $0.20)$497£371 (converted)AI-handled conversation
eDeskEssential $39 × 3 agents plus 1,000 outcomes at $0.99$1,107£827 (converted)outcome (answer or action)

Each vendor bills a different unit, so these are not like-for-like: a Richpanel "handled" conversation is not a Zendesk "resolution". Prices usually exclude VAT. USD converted at the Bank of England rate for 20 Oct 2026 ($1.3387 to £1). Every unit and price is in our AI cost per outcome guide.

What else should you know?

Price, ratings and UK usage support the judgement; they are not the judgement.

FactGorgiasZendeskRichpaneleDesk
Lowest published price$10/month (Starter helpdesk); $40/month with AI Agent (about £7.47 at the Bank of England rate for 20 Oct 2026)Starter: $10/month for the helpdesk (50 tickets/month, monthly billing only), or $40/month with AI Agent (includes 30 automated interactions). AI Agent is billed per automated interaction: $1.00 on Starter, $0.90 on Basic and Pro (annual). Pro with AI: $471/month billed annually (2,000 tickets, 190 automated interactions). Checked 22 Oct 2026.£15 per agent/monthLowest plan on the UK pricing page, per agent/month paid yearly$99 per seat/month + AI from $200/month (about £223.35 at the Bank of England rate for 20 Oct 2026)Helpdesk $99 per seat/month on annual commitment ($119 monthly). AI is metered on tokens at $0.50 per credit annually ($0.60 monthly), about $0.20 per AI-handled conversation, with a $200/month AI minimum; every plan includes seats and AI, so the smallest plan is $299/month (1 seat + AI minimum, annual). Checked 22 Oct 2026.$39/month (about £29.13 at the Bank of England rate for 20 Oct 2026)Lowest plan as shown; AI Agent $0.99 per outcome
Prices in GBP?No, USD only, even on the page we read from the UKYes, on the vendor's UK pricing pageNo, USD only on the pages we readYes, on the vendor's UK pricing page
Free planNo free planNo free planNo free planNo free plan
Shopify App Store4.3 from 706 reviews (Gorgias: AI Helpdesk & Chat)3.2 from 94 reviews (Zendesk)4.9 from 137 reviews (Richpanel: AI Customer Support)4.7 from 32 reviews (eDesk ‑ AI, Helpdesk & Chat)
Leading UK DTC brands (157)44 of 157 (28%)13 of 157 (8%)0 of 157 (0%)0 of 157 (0%)
Facts last verified22 Oct 202621 Oct 202622 Oct 202620 Oct 2026

Full profiles: Gorgias · Zendesk · Richpanel · eDesk · all customer service tools

Frequently asked questions

Gorgias vs Zendesk: which support AI does the job better for a UK brand?

Gorgias: its AI has the best measured result of the four and it opens up to your own AI on every paid plan. Richpanel is the one to watch: most open and cheapest, but its AI is unmeasured.

Which AI does the job better?

Gorgias. In the only cross-vendor test of live stores, Gorgias's AI Agent automated 64% of conversations with a quality score of 66, against 37% for Zendesk's AI. Gorgias runs that benchmark itself, so treat it as the best evidence available, not neutral proof. Nobody outside the vendors has measured Richpanel's or eDesk's AI.

Which helps a brand become AI-native?

Gorgias again for most Shopify-first UK brands: a first-party MCP server on all paid plans, its AI Agent on every plan, and the most useful AI shipped to normal plans in the last 90 days. Richpanel is the most open to your own AI and the cheapest per AI conversation, but its AI quality is unmeasured. Zendesk has the best UK pricing and hosting but the weakest measured AI and the highest basket cost.

Is Gorgias AI better than Zendesk AI?

On the one cross-vendor test of live stores, yes: Gorgias automated 64% of conversations against 37% for Zendesk. Gorgias runs that benchmark, so we treat it as the best evidence available rather than neutral proof.

Can Claude or ChatGPT connect to Gorgias or Zendesk?

Gorgias has a first-party MCP server in open beta on all paid plans. Zendesk has a REST API on all plans, and ChatGPT offers a Zendesk plugin built by OpenAI, but we found no Zendesk-documented MCP server for your own AI. Richpanel's MCP server is listed in Claude's connector directory. Neither Gorgias nor Zendesk is listed there yet (checked 23 Oct 2026).

Which helpdesk AI is cheapest per conversation?

Richpanel, at about $0.20 (about £0.15) per AI-handled conversation, with a $200 monthly minimum. eDesk charges $0.99 per outcome, Gorgias $0.90 per automated interaction on annual plans, and Zendesk £1.30 per committed automated resolution. Each counts a different thing.

Sources and method

Lens: the 9 questions and weights in our editorial guide, approved by Laura Rosenberger on 22 Oct 2026. Public evidence only: vendor docs, pricing pages, release notes, MCP directories and practitioner posts, each dated. We leave out G2 and Capterra. We didn't create accounts or message any vendor's chat. Not hands-on testing.

Prices: vendor pricing pages read on the dates shown. USD is converted at the Bank of England spot rate for 20 Oct 2026 ($1.3387 to £1), marked "about" or "converted".

Usage: our UK DTC AI stack tracker, snapshot 21 Oct 2026. A headless browser loaded each brand's homepage and a tool counts only when its own servers load, so every count is a minimum. A tool loading doesn't show its AI is switched on.

Our regular brief

Which AI tools are UK brands using?

Get new AI tools worth a look, price changes, fresh deals and one real brand use case in your inbox. No spam, unsubscribe any time.

Get the brief free

Sign-up opens on beehiiv, our newsletter platform. How we use your email.