Klaviyo vs Omnisend: which email AI helps a UK brand become AI-native?

Klaviyo and Omnisend judged on our AI-native lens: how well their AI does the email and SMS job, and how far your own AI can read and act on them.

Lens evidence checked 22 Oct 2026 · 9 questions · stack tracker 21 Oct 2026

Quick answer · updated 22 Oct 2026

Klaviyo vs Omnisend: which email AI helps a UK brand become AI-native? No winner on AI quality: neither tool's email AI has been measured. Klaviyo is narrowly more AI-native; Omnisend is the cheaper way to get AI and agent access on every plan.

Judged on our AI-native lens: does the AI do the job, and does the tool help a brand run on AI? Every row cites dated public evidence; "unmeasured" means nobody outside the vendor has tested it. Vendors can't pay for placement. How the lens works · Sources

Which AI does the job better?

Unmeasured for both. No independent benchmark covers email marketing AI. One Klaviyo community member who used Composer for a week (23 Sep 2026) found it good at explaining flow changes but says filters didn't stick and comparisons were limited. Klaviyo's separate support AI, Customer Agent, automated 21% in the Gorgias-run support benchmark; that is a different job.

Which helps a brand become AI-native?

Klaviyo, narrowly. Both have first-party MCP servers listed in Claude, and both let agents create campaigns. Klaviyo opens more of its platform (260+ MCP tools and SQL answers that show their query) and gives every account its Composer agent free up to 500 credits. Omnisend puts all its AI on every plan with no separate AI meter and lets agents create and edit automations, at a much lower price. Klaviyo stores all customer data in the US and trains its own models on de-identified data; we found no Omnisend AI training terms.

How do they rank on the lens?

Weights for email and SMS tools. Unknown rows are left out of the average, never guessed.

  1. Klaviyo AI unmeasured 4.00 on the 5 rows scored for every tool · 3.33 on all 7 of its scored rows
  2. Omnisend AI unmeasured 3.90 on the 5 rows scored for every tool · 3.90 on all 5 of its scored rows

No tool's AI has been measured, so we name no overall winner. The order shows which is more AI-native: the weighted average on the rows scored for every tool, so a gap in the evidence never lifts a tool.

How do Klaviyo and Omnisend compare on the AI-native lens?

Scores run from 1 to 5, where 5 is best for a brand that wants to run on AI. Confidence: H first-party docs, M one clear source, L anecdote or vendor marketing.

QuestionKlaviyoOmnisend
Does the AI do the job?Medium weightUnknownUnmeasured for email. Operator report (Klaviyo community, 23 Sep 2026): Composer helped explain flow performance and spotted things missed, but "Filters didn't stick" and year-over-year comparisons didn't work. Klaviyo warns Claude can make mistakes and advises a human in the loop.UnknownUnmeasured. No benchmark or operator report we could verify. Omnisend says its September AI segment agent gives "faster, more accurate responses" (vendor claim).
Sources: I made myself use Composer this week (Klaviyo Community) (23 Sep 2026); Ecommerce AI agent benchmark, run by Gorgias, summarised by SaaStr (Oct 2026); Klaviyo app for Claude FAQ (checked 22 Oct 2026); Omnisend: What's new, September 2026 (14 Sep 2026)
Can Claude or ChatGPT use it?High weight5/5 confidence HRemote MCP server (mcp.klaviyo.com/mcp), listed connector in Claude and app in ChatGPT; 260+ MCP tools and 490+ APIs (9 Sep 2026). Read-only mode available. The ChatGPT app help (Feb 2026) says it can draft campaigns and templates but not send campaigns or edit flows.5/5 confidence HRemote MCP server (mcp.omnisend.com/mcp), official Claude connector and ChatGPT plugin; agents can query data and create, update or delete campaigns, segments, automations and forms (forms added Sep 2026).
Which routes can Claude, ChatGPT or your agents use?Each route dated and sourced. Not scored on its own: it feeds the score above.
  • Official Claude connector YesAnthropic verified, added Jan 2026. The listing shows 27 tools, including create campaign and update profile; Klaviyo cites 260+ MCP tools across its platform (9 Sep 2026).Klaviyo in Claude's directory (checked 23 Oct 2026)
  • Official ChatGPT app YesOfficial Klaviyo app, launched 28 Jan 2026. Klaviyo's help (5 Feb 2026) says it can draft campaigns and templates but can't send campaigns or edit flows.How to use the Klaviyo app for ChatGPT (5 Feb 2026)
  • MCP server YesOfficial (mcp.klaviyo.com). Can act, for example create campaigns and update profiles, with a read-only mode. Needs an Owner, Admin or Manager role; no plan limit stated.Connect to the Klaviyo MCP server (checked 22 Oct 2026)
  • Public API YesPublic REST API; Klaviyo cites 490+ APIs (9 Sep 2026). No plan limit stated.Klaviyo developer docs (checked 23 Oct 2026)
  • Official CLI YesOfficial Klaviyo CLI with typed commands for the API (profiles, lists, events).Klaviyo CLI (checked 23 Oct 2026)
  • Official Claude connector YesAnthropic verified, added Jul 2026. Tools to query, create, update and delete.Omnisend MCP in Claude's directory (checked 23 Oct 2026)
  • Official ChatGPT app YesOfficial Omnisend app in ChatGPT. You switch read and write access on or off for each data area.Use Omnisend app with ChatGPT (6 Aug 2026)
  • MCP server YesOfficial (mcp.omnisend.com). Can create, update or delete campaigns, segments, automations and forms. Needs an Owner, Admin, Manager or Partner role; no plan limit stated.Connect Omnisend MCP to AI tools (6 Aug 2026)
  • Public API YesPublic REST API. Which plans include it: not stated.Omnisend API docs (checked 22 Oct 2026)
  • Official CLI NoNone found in its developer docs.Omnisend API docs (checked 23 Oct 2026)
Sources: Connect to the Klaviyo MCP server (checked 22 Oct 2026); Klaviyo goes headless (press release) (9 Sep 2026); How to use the Klaviyo app for ChatGPT (5 Feb 2026); Connect Omnisend MCP to AI tools (6 Aug 2026); Omnisend MCP server v2 docs (checked 22 Oct 2026)
Does the AI come on a plan a small brand would buy?Medium weight4/5 confidence MComposer is on every account, free up to 500 credits a cycle; $20 a month for 2,000. MCP needs an Owner, Admin or Manager role; no plan limit stated. Customer Agent is a paid add-on from $50 a month.4/5 confidence MAll features on the Free plan (250 contacts, 500 emails a month), including the AI Segment Builder. Personalised sending time and product recommendations need Pro (from $59 a month) or an add-on. MCP needs an Owner, Admin, Manager or Partner role; no plan limit stated.
Sources: How your Composer plan works (14 Oct 2026); How Klaviyo billing works (20 Oct 2026); Omnisend pricing plans 2026 (checked 22 Oct 2026)
Can you control what the AI does?Medium weight4/5 confidence MMCP URL options switch off write tools (read-only) or limit toolsets. Composer shows citations and the SQL behind answers (13 Oct 2026).4/5 confidence MYou pick read or write access when you authorise the MCP connection. AI Recommendations can be previewed, applied, tested or dismissed.
Sources: Connect to the Klaviyo MCP server (checked 22 Oct 2026); Klaviyo release: Composer goes GA (13 Oct 2026); Omnisend MCP server v2 docs (checked 22 Oct 2026)
What does the AI learn from your data, and where does it live?Medium weight2/5 confidence HTrains its own models on aggregated or de-identified data (no opt-out stated); third-party LLM providers may not train on your data. All customer data stored in the US; no UK or EU storage.UnknownAI training terms: not found. Hosted on Google Cloud, region not stated; the DPA allows transfers outside the EEA, including the US, under standard contractual clauses.
Sources: AI at Klaviyo: FAQs (29 Jun 2026); Klaviyo privacy FAQs (16 Jun 2026); Omnisend DPA (22 Sep 2025)
What does the AI cost per outcome in GBP?Medium weightNot scoredBilled in Composer credits: 500 free a cycle, then $20 a month (about £14.94) for 2,000; Klaviyo estimates $0.10 to $10 per campaign created. Customer Agent: $50 a month (about £37.35) for up to 75 resolved conversations.Not scoredNo separate AI meter: AI is included in the plan price (Free $0, Standard from $16, Pro from $59 a month; about £11.95 and £44.07).
Sources: How your Composer plan works (14 Oct 2026); How Klaviyo billing works (20 Oct 2026); Omnisend pricing plans 2026 (checked 22 Oct 2026)
What comes with you if you leave?High weight2/5 confidence MKlaviyo's own migration guide: export contacts and consent; flows, templates and logic are rebuilt by hand. Composer Skills export: not stated.UnknownWe found no Omnisend doc on exporting flows or AI setup. Its API can read campaigns and automations.
Sources: How to migrate off Klaviyo (checked 22 Oct 2026)
Does it work for a UK brand today?Medium weight2/5 confidence HUSD on the UK pricing page we read; US-only data storage. Customer Agent now uses each Shopify Market's catalogue, price and currency (13 Oct 2026).2/5 confidence MCharges in USD; hosting region not stated. London office listed in the DPA.
Sources: Klaviyo UK pricing (checked 22 Oct 2026); Omnisend pricing plans 2026 (checked 22 Oct 2026)
What AI reached normal plans in the last 90 days?Low weight5/5 confidence MComposer GA for every account (6 Oct), SQL in Klaviyo Data Platform live (13 Oct), 260+ MCP tools (9 Sep), Customer Agent in 100+ languages and Shopify Markets (Sep and Oct).4/5 confidence MNew AI segment agent, Forms AI assistant, AI Recommendations, and MCP for forms and send-time optimisation (Sep 2026); MCP set-up guide (6 Aug).
Sources: Klaviyo release: Composer goes GA (13 Oct 2026); Omnisend: What's new, September 2026 (14 Sep 2026)
Weighted average of scored rows3.33 (7 of 9 scored)3.90 (5 of 9 scored)

A Claude connector or ChatGPT app means it is listed in that product's directory; without one you can usually still add the tool's MCP server by URL. OpenAI says full custom MCP support in ChatGPT, including actions, is for Business, Enterprise and Edu workspaces. Routes checked 23 Oct 2026. Yes, No, Limited or Unknown, never guessed.

Can the Klaviyo app in ChatGPT send campaigns?

Two Klaviyo sources disagree. Klaviyo's help for the ChatGPT app (5 Feb 2026) says the app can draft campaigns and templates but can't send campaigns or edit flows. Klaviyo's press release of 9 Sep 2026 says agents can "read, write, and go live" across its platform. We couldn't confirm whether the ChatGPT app itself can now send or edit flows, so we report the narrower help-centre wording.

Sources: How to use the Klaviyo app for ChatGPT (5 Feb 2026); Klaviyo goes headless (press release) (9 Sep 2026)

What else should you know?

Price, ratings and UK usage support the judgement; they are not the judgement.

FactKlaviyoOmnisend
Lowest published priceFree plan; paid by profile countFree plan: up to 250 profiles and 500 emails/month; paid plans scale with profiles$11.20/month (about £8.37 at the Bank of England rate for 20 Oct 2026)Standard plan at the discounted rate shown during our check; free plan available
Prices in GBP?No single price shown: free plan; paid by profile countNo, USD only, even on the page we read from the UK
Free planYes, free planYes, free plan
Shopify App Store4.7 from 3,397 reviews (Klaviyo: Email Marketing & SMS)4.7 from 3,192 reviews (Omnisend Email Marketing & SMS)
Leading UK DTC brands (157)99 of 157 (63%)1 of 157 (1%)
Facts last verified20 Oct 202620 Oct 2026

Full profiles: Klaviyo · Omnisend · all retention, email & sms tools

Frequently asked questions

Klaviyo vs Omnisend: which email AI helps a UK brand become AI-native?

No winner on AI quality: neither tool's email AI has been measured. Klaviyo is narrowly more AI-native; Omnisend is the cheaper way to get AI and agent access on every plan.

Which AI does the job better?

Unmeasured for both. No independent benchmark covers email marketing AI. One Klaviyo community member who used Composer for a week (23 Sep 2026) found it good at explaining flow changes but says filters didn't stick and comparisons were limited. Klaviyo's separate support AI, Customer Agent, automated 21% in the Gorgias-run support benchmark; that is a different job.

Which helps a brand become AI-native?

Klaviyo, narrowly. Both have first-party MCP servers listed in Claude, and both let agents create campaigns. Klaviyo opens more of its platform (260+ MCP tools and SQL answers that show their query) and gives every account its Composer agent free up to 500 credits. Omnisend puts all its AI on every plan with no separate AI meter and lets agents create and edit automations, at a much lower price. Klaviyo stores all customer data in the US and trains its own models on de-identified data; we found no Omnisend AI training terms.

Can Claude connect to Klaviyo and Omnisend?

Yes. Both list a first-party connector in Claude's directory and offer a ChatGPT app or plugin. Klaviyo's server is mcp.klaviyo.com/mcp and Omnisend's is mcp.omnisend.com/mcp. Both need an Owner, Admin or Manager role.

Is Klaviyo Composer free?

Every Klaviyo account gets a free Composer plan with 500 credits a cycle. The paid plan is $20 a month for 2,000 credits, with $10 top-ups of 1,000 credits if you switch on overages (Klaviyo help centre, updated 14 Oct 2026).

Does Klaviyo train AI on my data?

Klaviyo says it trains its own models on aggregated or de-identified data and that third-party providers such as OpenAI and Anthropic may not train on your data (AI FAQs, updated 29 Jun 2026). It stores all customer data in the US.

Sources and method

Lens: the 9 questions and weights in our editorial guide, approved by Laura Rosenberger on 22 Oct 2026. Public evidence only: vendor docs, pricing pages, release notes, MCP directories and practitioner posts, each dated. We leave out G2 and Capterra. We didn't create accounts or message any vendor's chat. Not hands-on testing.

Prices: vendor pricing pages read on the dates shown. USD is converted at the Bank of England spot rate for 20 Oct 2026 ($1.3387 to £1), marked "about" or "converted".

Usage: our UK DTC AI stack tracker, snapshot 21 Oct 2026. A headless browser loaded each brand's homepage and a tool counts only when its own servers load, so every count is a minimum. A tool loading doesn't show its AI is switched on.

Our regular brief

Which AI tools are UK brands using?

Get new AI tools worth a look, price changes, fresh deals and one real brand use case in your inbox. No spam, unsubscribe any time.

Get the brief free

Sign-up opens on beehiiv, our newsletter platform. How we use your email.